Constitutional Court of the Kingdom of Thailand


The Constitution of the Kingdom of Thailand B.E. 2550 (2007) provided for the Constitutional Court to have powers and duties in adjudicating and ruling constitutional cases. These powers and duties may be categorized into the following 9 functions:


  1. constitutionality review of bills of law and draft rules of procedure of the legislature prior to promulgation so as to prevent any contrariness or inconsistencies with the Constitution;
  2. constitutionality review of laws already in force so as to prevent any contrariness or inconsistencies with the Constitution;
  3. constitutionality review of the conditions for enacting an Emergency Degree so as to avoid any contrariness or inconsistencies with the Constitution;
  4. to rule on whether or not a member of the House of Representatives, senator or committee member has committed an act which results in a direct or indirect interest in the use of budgetary appropriations;
  5. to rule on disputes of conflicts pertaining to the powers and duties of two or more organs with respect to the National Assembly, Council of ministers or non-judicial constitutional organs;
  6. to rule on resolutions or regulations of political parties, to consider appeals of members of the House of Representatives and to rule on cases concerning persons or political parties exercising political rights and liberties unconstitutionally;
  7. to rule on the membership or qualifications of members of the National Assembly, Minister and Election Commissioners;
  8. to rule on whether or not a treaty must be approved by the National Assembly;
  9. powers and duties stipulated by the Organic Act on Political Parties B.E. 2550 (2007).
Address :
The Government Complex Commemorating His Majesty The King ' s 80th Birthday Anniversary, 5th December, B.E. 2550 ( 2007 ) Building A ,120 Moo 3 Chaengwattana Road, Laksi District, Bangkok 10210
0 2141 7777
0 2143 9522
H.E. Mr. Nakharin Mektrairat (President)
2024 - Present
Members Composition

H.E. Mr. Udom Rathamarit

H.E. Mr. Bunjongsak Theppitak

H.E. Mr. Nakharin Mektrairat

H.E. Mr. Udom Sittiwirattham

H.E. Mr. Dr. Punya Udchachon

H.E. Mr. Chiranit Havanond

H.E. Mr. Wiroon Sangtian

H.E. Mr. Noppadon Theppitak


Secretary General
Mrs. Porntipa Swaisuwanwong