Supreme Court of Bangladesh


The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court of Bangladesh has been provided for in the Constitution of the People’s Republic of Bangladesh. Article 94(1) of the Constitution provides that there shall be Supreme Court for Bangladesh comprising the Appellate Division and the High Court Division. These two Divisions of the Supreme Court have separate jurisdictions. The sources of this jurisdiction, apart from the Constitution, are general laws (Acts of Parliament) of the country.

Jurisdiction of the Appellate Division

The Constitution has conferred on the Appellate Division the following jurisdictions:

  1. Appellate Jurisdiction:
  2. Issue and execution of processes of Appellate Division:
  3. Power of Review:
  4. Advisory Jurisdiction:
  5. Rule making power of the Supreme Court:



Jurisdiction of the High Court Division

Article 101 of the Constitution provides that the High Court Division shall have such original, appellate and other jurisdictions, powers and functions as are or may be conferred on it by the Constitution or any other law.

  1. Original Jurisdiction
  2. Appellate Jurisdiction
  3. Revisional Jurisdiction
  4. Review Jurisdiction
  5. Jurisdiction as to Superintendence and Control over Courts Subordinate to it
  6. Transfer of cases from subordinate Courts to the High Court Division


Lawazima Court:

The Lawazima Court is presided over by the Registrar. This court deals with the procedural matters for making the cases ready for hearing.


Address :
Registrar General Supreme Court of Bangladesh Ramna, Dhaka-1000.
Justice Hasan Foez Siddique
2021 - Present
Members Composition

H.E Mr. Muhammad Imman Ali

H.E  Mr. Md. Nuruzzaman

H.E  Mr. Obaidul Hassan

H.E Mr. Borhanuddin

H.E Mr. M. Enayetur Rahim

H.E Mr. Md. Ashfaqul Islam

H.E Mr. Md. Abu Zafor Siddique

H.E Mr. Jahangir Hossain

Secretary General
Mr. Md. Bazlur Rahman - Registrar General